AWARDS | Otto Hahn Medal for Franziska Decker and Daniel Mateju

Special honor for outstanding early career researchers

Every year, the Max Planck Society recognizes its particularly gifted early career researchers with a special medal at its annual meeting: 28 scientists were awarded the Otto Hahn Medal this year for outstanding scientific achievements, generally achieved in connection with their doctoral thesis. Two IMPRS-CellDevoSys PhD students, affiliated with the MPI-CBG and the MPI for the Physics of Complex Systems (MPI-PKS) were awarded the Otto Hahn Medal. Franziska Decker from the MPI-CBG and the MPI-PKS, did her PhD in the research lab of Jan Brugués and received the award for the study of microtubule nucleation during cell division and its influence on the size of mitotic spindles. The second awardee, Daniel Mateju from the MPI-CBG, was a PhD student in the lab of Simon Alberti. He received the award for outstanding new insights into the molecular mechanisms underlying the formation and regulation of stress-inducible ribonucleoprotein granules using innovative imaging approaches. The medal was awarded on the occasion of the Annual Meeting of the Max Planck Society in Hamburg on 26 June 2019. 

Congratulations from all of us!

The Max Planck Society honors up to 30 young scientists and researchers each year with the Otto Hahn Medal for outstanding scientific achievements since 1978. The award comes with a monetary sum of 7500 euros as recognition. The prize is intended to motivate especially gifted junior scientists and researchers to pursue a future university or research career. Since 1978, more than 1000 scientists and researchers have been awarded the Otto Hahn Medal.


Applications are welcome anytime.